Wow, it looks like these blog posts are going to be monthly. I'm sorry. I will try to do better...
Anyway. I've been wanting to write a post about my complicated relationship with the portuguese language.
I love learning Portuguese. Seriously. Learning a new language is a great challenge, and I just really enjoy it. I have the best teacher possible (the owner of the language school I go to), and I sometimes feel like I'm progressing really well.
Then, there is reality. I don't speak a word of portuguese most days. I have to speak English all day at school. Then, I go home and speak/read/write English with Brian and with family members online. Then, I have American friends who I speak English with. I really and truly appreciate all these opportunities to function in English and to feel like a real person here. However, I am NOT progressing in Portuguese as much as I need to be. I have been here for 3 months, so I should at least be able to order myself a damn sandwich with no problems. Right? No. The reality is that you will not become fluent in a foreign language unless and until you are immersed in it. I hope I will at least have that experience over the vacations.
It is really frustrating that I can mostly understand the conversations when we go out with friends/family, but I just can't participate the way I'd like to. I hate that they don't know me very well yet because of the language barriers. I know we have only been here 3 months, so I should cut myself a break...but I just don't want to be in this same position at the end of the school year! I must gain my independence here. Brian has been a huge lifesaver, but I need to be able to do stuff independently, or I won't be happy in the long-term.
Alright, on to what's new:
- We finally took that trip to Sao Paulo, and it was super fun. In just one weekend, we saw quite a lot. We're planning to visit more regularly, because there is an endless supply of stuff to do there.
- Both my mom and dad booked their trips for Christmas break. So excited to show them where we live! And maybe do a little beach/touristy time. Okay, and I'm not gonna lie...I'm a little excited that they can bring me some more stuff from home. I'm finding all kinds of great clearances on summer clothes online there, and it's about to be summer here. Works out nicely. But really, I'm most excited just to see them.
- 4th graders are still good. Still getting used to the age, but it's been fun.
- Finally going on our first real trip since we've been here next week! It's now officially holiday season, and we are headed to the beach (Florianopolis) next Friday night for a 4-day weekend!
- Going crazy trying to find a reasonable place for Carnaval in Rio in February. We hope to have this resolved in the next day or two.
- We got to celebrate Halloween here last week, even though it's typically not celebrated here. The school has an annual Halloween Festival, so I got to see lots of kids and parents in costumes, and they even got to go trick or treating. I was so glad to not miss my favorite holiday.
I have the best intentions of writing again soon, so let's see how it goes. Let me know it there is anything you'd like to hear more about from Brazil, and maybe it can become the subject of the next blog post.







