Thursday, March 3, 2011

Happy almost Carnaval! And a random list of things I'm gonna miss...

55 more days of school! Wait, this post is not supposed to be about my not-so-boring daily life. It's a random post intended to get my mind off of that craziness.

First up, it's almost Carnaval in Brazil! The whole country takes a few days off to celebrate, and New Orleans has nothing on the brasileiros. Luckily, we'll get to watch the parades and samba schools on TV this year, but we're already dreaming about where we might be a part of it next year. Oh the fun.




Oh yeah, that is totally gonna be me next year. If I can just keep this gym routine up!

Also, Brian came across this guy while reading the Brazilian news online today...


This guy is John Carioca. He is the "mascot" for North Americans visiting Rio for Carnaval. He is supposed to be there to help tourists and pass out Carnaval information in English, but uhhhhh....I think they're making fun of us! I mean, look at those Tevas! And that dorky hat! My half-brasileiro husband laughed for minutes on end at this photo. Until I reminded him that he is also half-gringo.

On a different note, I have started to follow a few blogs of Americans living in Brazil. It's really interesting and helpful to read about the experiences of people who have gone through what I'm going to go through. Reading these blogs have gotten me really excited, because I'm pretty sure I'm going to love it. I feel so lucky to be in such a great situation. Awesome job where I get to speak English, the best Brazilian family you could ever ask for, and the chance to learn and experience new things every day.
 
However, I'm starting to think about a few of the things I'm going to miss. Besides, of course, my family. You know, the shallow things. I promise to counteract this negative post very soon with a list of things I'm very much looking forward to about Brazil. I don't want to sound complain-y and like I expect everything to be the same as the US to be happy.

But for now, here are the random things I am learning that I'll be without in Brazil that I'm kinda going to miss:


  • PEANUT BUTTER! Okay, you can get it, but it's expensive. I think I can learn to make it.
  • Blueberries. Apparently, they only grow in colder climates. I should also add here that there are bajillions of amazing fruits available in Brazil that you can't get here. So I'm sure I'll be good on the fruit front.
  • Dishwashers. Nooooo! I'm way too lazy to wash all my dishes by hand!
  • Target. Yeah okay, big "box stores" are the American devil. Whatever. I LOVE Target.
  • Hershey's. I don't remember seeing anything but Nestle down there. Ehhh.
  • Top Chef, the Daily Show, Netflix, and all other access to dumb American TV. Well, maybe I'll be better without it. Or maybe I can find some kind of cable package so I can still see some of it!
In other news, I just sent off my Brazilian work contract so that the work visa process can keep moving forward. So far, it's been a fairly painless process.


Alright, back to real life! If anyone wants to come over to watch Carnaval between Friday and Tuesday, let us know. Happy almost Friday!

3 comments:

  1. Don't worry about TV. The power of the internet has kept me in Hell's Kitchen and American Idol since we've been here. And cable too, we have CNN (International, but whatever), Discovery Channel, Fox Japan (which shows all the American stuff, just in weird chunks), National Geographic, Animal Planet. It's not everything, but it's something.

    However, you will miss the dishwasher. You should see my sink right now, it's a nightmare. Make Brian wash, you'll be ok.

    Food stuff - import stores, they are expensive, but for the occasional treat they are so worth it. I miss cheese though, it's so expensive here! And Japanese cheese...no thanks.

    Oh, did I ever tell you we have a Brazilian food truck that comes once a week to serve all of the folks in the neighborhood. I get Ragnar his weekly guarana and pao de queijo fix. Maybe there's an American truck? Haha, probably not. But you'll find so many new things to love.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey cousin !

    A LOT of North Americans use that kind of hat here! IDK maybe they think that is normal here. hahaha

    Thanks for "the best Brazilian family you could ever ask for" =]

    About those things that you gonna miss:
    You CAN find Peanut Butter. (Pasta de Amendoim)

    Dishwashers. it`s not usual, but you can find in ANY store. (Lava Louças)

    There is no Target here, but you can find Walmart and Carrefour(french).

    Hershey's of course we have.

    TV Programs: just ask for a cable package ! =]

    And for your friend Liz: No, there is no "American Truck" ! hahaha.

    But, relax... you`ll find Churrasco, caipirinha, pão de queijo.. and more.

    p.s - I'm sorry if I said something wrong, when you're here, I hope to practice my English a little more. =]

    Kisses and Hugs

    Ricardo

    ReplyDelete
  3. So we have an unopened bottle of Cachaca at home. I'm thinking we should have a caipirinha party this weekend to celebrate Carnaval. Yes??

    I laughed about that American tourist mascot for about 5 minutes straight this morning. If you added a travel vest with 30 pockets to him, he would be the incarnation of my parents on vacation, sandals and all.

    ReplyDelete